2015 Palmer Cup Hosted by Rich Harvest Farm

The Palmer Cup, named after the great Arnold Palmer is a Ryder Cup-style golf event that brings together the top ten collegiate players in the United States against their counterparts from Europe. Arnold Palmer, a former collegiate player himself, has been called America’s greatest Ambassador for the game of golf.

Event Photos
Click here to view 2015 Palmer Cup event photos!

The 2015 Palmer Cup teams were coached by Georgia Tech’s Bruce Heppler (USA) & Jean Van de Velde (Europe).

Event History
The inaugural Palmer Cup was played at Bay Hill Club in Florida in June 1997. Since its inception, the tournament has been played at such historic venues as The Honors Course, Royal Liverpool, Baltusrol, Doonbeg, Cassique, Ballybunion, Whistling Straits-The Irish, Prestwick, Caves Valley  and, most recently, Wilmington Country Club in 2013.

In 2002 a decision was made to alter the team composition by adding all European players instead of just those from Great Britain and Ireland. The effects of this decision has significantly changed the Palmer Cup in its international appeal and competitiveness of the matches. Teams were expanded to 10 players each starting in 2013 and currently the United States leads the all-time series 9-7-1.

Former Palmer Cup players include: Luke Donald, Rory Sabbatini, Russell Henley, Charles Howell, III, Jonas Blixt, Jonathan Byrd, Ben Curtis, 2009 U.S. Open Champion Lucas Glover, Bryce Molder, 2010 U.S. Open Champion Graeme McDowell, Bill Haas, Hunter Mahan, Ryan Moore, D.J. Trahan, Alejandro Canazares, Gonzalo Castano, J.B. Holmes, 2006 USGA Amateur Champion Richard Ramsey, Open de Portugal winner Pablo Martin, Dustin Johnson, and Luke List.

2015 Palmer Cup Players & Assistant Coaches

NORMAN, Okla. – The 2015 Palmer Cup player roster was announced Friday on Golf Channel’s Morning Drive. The Ryder Cup-style event pits the top collegiate golfers from the United States against their counterparts from Europe. This year’s event, put on by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA), will take place at Rich Harvest Farms June 12-14.

Team USA

Palmer Cup Rankings Selections
Lee McCoy, Georgia
Maverick McNealy, Stanford
Hunter Stewart, Vanderbilt
Robby Shelton, Alabama
Jack Maguire, Florida State
Beau Hossler, Texas

 Committee Selections
Kyle Jones, Baylor
Ollie Schniederjans, Georgia Tech

 Non-Division I Selection
Carr Vernon, CSU Monterey Bay

 Coach Heppler’s Pick
Anders Albertson, Georgia Tech

Head Coach – Bruce Heppler, Georgia Tech
Assistant Coach – Chris Hill, Pacific

Team Europe

 Palmer Cup Rankings Selections
Jon Rahm, Arizona State (Spain)
Max Rottluff, Arizona State (Germany)
Rowin Caron, Florida State (Netherlands)
Adrian Meronk, ETSU (Poland)
Clement Sordet, Texas Tech (France)
Thomas Detry, Illinois (Belgium)

 Committee Selections
Gary Hurley, Maynooth (Ireland)
Matthias Schwab, Vanderbilt (Austria)

 R&A Foundation Scholars Tournament
Mathias Eggenberger, Stirling (Liechtenstein)

 Coach Van de Velde’s Pick
Pep Angles, Central Arkansas (Spain)

Head Coach – Jean Van de Velde – France
Assistant Coach – Janice Moodie – Scotland

Jon Rahm of Arizona State (Spain) led the six players from Europe selected by the Palmer Cup Rankings. He was joined by his Arizona State teammate Max Rottluff (Germany), Rowin Caron of Florida State (Netherlands), ETSU’s Adrian Meronk (Poland), Clement Sordet from Texas Tech (France) and Thomas Detry from Illinois (Belgium) from the rank­ing. To compile the ranking, the GCAA used Golfstat’s NCAA Player Ranking as a base. Players then received bonus points for wins and high fin­ishes and negative points for poor finishes to arrive at the final ranking. The equation also includes a strength of schedule component.

Committee selections were Gary Hurley of Maynooth (Ireland) and Vanderbilt’s Matthias Schwab (Austria). Math­ias Eggenberger of Stirling (Liechtenstein) qualified for Team Europe by winning The R&A Foundation Scholars Tourna­ment. Pep Angles of Central Arkansas (Spain) was Jean Van de Velde’s coach’s pick.

Rahm, Detry and Angles were members of last year’s victorious European squad while Hurley was a member of the 2013 team at Wilmington Country Club. Meronk is the first Palmer Cup player from Poland, while Schwab and Eggen­berger are the first from Austria and Liechtenstein, respectively. Counting its coaching staff, Europe is represented by a Palmer Cup record of 10 countries.

Lee McCoy of Georgia, Stanford’s Maverick McNealy, Vanderbilt’s Hunter Stewart, Alabama’s Robby Shelton, Florida State’s Jack Maguire and Beau Hossler of Texas were the six United States players selected by the Palmer Cup Rank­ing.

Baylor’s Kyle Jones, Georgia Tech’s Ollie Schniederjans and Carr Vernon of CSU Monterey Bay were committee selections. Vernon was the designated non-Division I player. Anders Albertson of Georgia Tech was Coach Bruce Hep­pler’s pick. Maguire and Schniederjans were members of 2014 American team that fell to Europe at Walton Heath.

Assistant Coaches Announced
Earlier this week, the GCAA announced Janice Moodie and Chris Hill as the assistant coaches for the European and United States teams, respectively.

A participant in the 2009 Solheim Cup held at Rich Harvest Farms, Moodie will assist Jean Van de Velde for team Europe. Moodie represented Europe three times as a Solheim Cup player in 2000, 2003 and 2009, compiling a 7-2-2 record. She won twice on the LPGA Tour at the 2000 ShopRite LPGA Classic and the 2002 Asahi Ryokuken International Championship.

Also a standout in the college and amateur ranks, Moodie was inducted into the WGCA Hall of Fame in 2004 and the San Jose State University Sports Hall of Fame the previous year. Moodie will also team up with Van de Velde at the 2016 Arnold Palmer Cup at Formby Golf Club.

“It will be special for me to return to the site of the 2009 Solheim Cup, but even more so to hopefully pass on my knowledge and wisdom of amateur, professional and team golf on to these young talented European collegiate players,” said Moodie. “With Mr. Palmer as the foundation of this event, it will be a tremendous influence on the lives of these young gentlemen going forward, whether on or off the course.”

Chris Hill, Pacific’s head coach, will serve with Team USA Coach Bruce Heppler.

Hill was honored at the University of Houston in April of 2014 as recipient of the Jan Strickland Award, presented to the nation’s top assistant coach by Taylor Made-Adidas Golf as selected by the GCAA. It marked the second straight season that Hill was recognized as one of the nation’s top assistant coaches.

“I am extremely honored to be the assistant coach for this year’s Palmer Cup at Rich Harvest Farms,” stated Hill. “I look forward to coaching alongside an NCAA great, Coach Heppler. Under his command, we will bring the trophy back to the USA!”

The United States leads the Palmer Cup series 9-8-1.